Aagre not running for reelection in Hazlet

Hazlet Mayor Scott Aagre and former Senator Joe Kyrillos 

Mayor Scott Aagre has decided not to seek a sixth term on the Hazlet Township Committee, GOP Municipal Chairman Gene Kiley confirmed to MMM.

First elected in 2003, Aagre will have spent 15 years on the Hazlet governing body when he leaves office at the end of this year.

“Scott is a great public servant and a good friend to the people of Hazlet,” said Freeholder Sue Kiley, who served with Aagre from 2014 until she was sworn into her current office. “His wisdom and contributions will be missed.”

Read the rest of this entry »

Posted: February 28th, 2019 | Author: | Filed under: Monmouth County News, New Jersey | Tags: , , , , , , | 1 Comment »

Michael Sachs Takes Sue Kiley’s Seat On Hazlet Township Committee

Michael Sachs, Sue Kiley and Scott Aagre celelbrate Kiley’s first election to the Hazlet Township Committee in 2014

Long time community leader Michael Sachs returned to the Hazlet Township Committee this week after a two year hiatus.  Sachs, 59, was appointed to the committee to fill the vacancy created when Sue Kiley resigned upon becoming a Monmouth County Freeholder.

Sachs, a Republican, is expected to seek Hazlet voters approval in November to complete the term which expires on December 31, 2020.  He has previously served a combined 15 years on the Township Committee, including four years as mayor, according to The Hazletonian, a local news site published by Two River Times  news and social media editor Christina Johnson.

Read the rest of this entry »

Posted: January 18th, 2019 | Author: | Filed under: Hazlet, Monmouth County News | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | Comments Off on Michael Sachs Takes Sue Kiley’s Seat On Hazlet Township Committee

Sue Kiley will be Hazlet Mayor in 2017

Hazlet Mayor-elect Sue Kiley @ The RAINE Foundation’s annual toy distribution.

Hazlet’s Township Committee has selected Deputy Mayor Sue Kiley to lead the community as Mayor in 2017.

Kiley will be sworn in by Lt Governor Kim Guadagno during the Township’s Reorganization meeting which is scheduled for Sunday, January 1, 2017 at noon.  Scott Aagre, the current mayor, will serve as Deputy Mayor in 2017 and also be sworn in by Guadagno.

Aagre, who was reelected in November, and his running mate, Mike Glackin, will be sworn into their three year terms on the Township Committee by Senator Joe Kyrillos.

Read the rest of this entry »

Posted: December 27th, 2016 | Author: | Filed under: Hazlet, Monmouth County News | Tags: , , , , , , , | 4 Comments »

Republicans Win In Hazlet

Incumbent Republican Committeemen Mike Sachs and Scott Aagre beat back a challenge from Democrats Cliff Moore and Audrey Tyler, with all districts reporting.

Posted: November 5th, 2013 | Author: | Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | Comments Off on Republicans Win In Hazlet

Who Should Challenge Pallone?

nj-new-6th-district-mapThe filing deadline is April 2.

With all the attention and excitement being paid to Joe Kyrillo’s U.S. Senate candidacy and a new map that most think makes Frank Pallone even harder to beat, there is little if any talk about a GOP candidate in the 6th Congressional District.

So let’s throw some names out there and have then have a poll.   I start with names that come to mind.  Please add names in the comments. Over the weekend I’ll create a poll.  

Former Highlands Mayor Anna Little

Selika Josiah Gore, Marlboro

Matawan Councilwoman Toni Marie Angelini

Matawan Councilman Tom Fitzsimmons

Assemblywoman Amy Handlin

Atlantic Highlands Councilman Peter Doyle

Keyport Mayor Bob McLeod

Former Middletown Committeeman Tom Wilkens

Middletown Mayor Tony Fiore

Hazlet Committeeman Scott Aagre

James Hogan of Long Branch

Oceanport Councilman Joe Irace

Former Freeholder Bill Barham

Former Assemblyman, triCityNews Publisher Dan Jacobson

Lt. Governor Kim Guadagno

Freeholder Director John Curley

Who else?

Posted: February 2nd, 2012 | Author: | Filed under: 2012 Congressional Races, Congress, Congressional Redistricting | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 38 Comments »

Conte Reportedly Withdraws From Freeholder Race

Wall Township Mayor Anne Marie Conte will not be a candidate for Freeholder when the Monmouth County Republican Committee meets on January 14 to elect a successor to Assemblyman-elect Rob Clifton, according to Monmouth Republican Affiliated Club President and Wayne’s World Reporter Wayne Pomanowski.

Pomanowski said that Conte called him to asked that her photo and bio be removed from the Affiliated’s website.   Reportedly Conte was stung by criticism from Wall Township residents, including an OpEd piece by 2010 Monmouth Democratic Sheriff candidate Eric Brophy published on the Wall Patch, that she was seeking higher office so soon after being reelected to the Township Committee.

Conte was not available for comment. 

Pomanowski also said that Manalapan Deputy Mayor Ryan Green is definitely a candidate and that Hazlet Mayor Scott Aagre is close to entering the race.  Green’s bio and photo are on the Affiliated site.

Posted: December 2nd, 2011 | Author: | Filed under: Freeholder, Monmouth County, Monmouth County Board of Freeholders, Monmouth County Republican Committee, Monmouth GOP | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments »