The map’s impact on Monmouth County Incumbents

By Art Gallagher

Click on the map for a full view

Click on the map for a full view

New district 11: Comprised from parts of the old 11th and 12th.  Jennifer Beck is the incumbent senator.  Caroline Casagrande and Mary Pat Angelini are incumbent assemblywomen.  A district with all female representatives!  That is probably a historical first.

This district includes Asbury Park.  Dan Jacobson’s political comeback is effectively over as he won’t challenge Jennifer Beck.  Beck’s career is the creation of Jacobson’s newspaper….just ask him, he’ll swear to it.

New district 12: In addition to the Monmouth towns of Allentown, Englishtown, Manalapan, Matawan, Millstone, Roosevelt and Upper Freehold, this district includes Old Bridge of Middlesex County, the Ocean County towns of Jackson and Plumsted and the Burlington County towns of Chesterfield, North Hanover, New Hanover and Wrightstown.

Sam Thompson of Old Bridge and Ronald Dancer of Plumsted are the incumbent assembly members.  There is no incumbent senator.   This district creates an opportunity for Monmouth County Freeholder Director Rob Clifton, and Manalapan Mayor Andrew Lucas to run for the legislature.  Dancer is also the Mayor of Plumsted.  Thompson is Chairman of the Middlesex County GOP.  It is unknown if either men have ambitions to move up to the Senate.

New district 13: Declan O’Scanlon of Little Silver joins Amy Handlin of Middletown in representing this district in the Assembly.  Joe Kyrillos of Middletown is the incumbent Senator. 

This district keeps the Bayshore from the old 13th, adds Atlantic Higlands, Highlands, Monmouth Beach,  Rumson and Sea Bright from the old 11th and Fair Haven, Little Silver, Oceanport, Marlboro from the old 12th.

New 30th:  Incumbent Senators Sean Kean (Wall) and Robert Singer (Lakewood)both live in this district.  Singer represented both Lakewood and Howell in the old 30th.  Singer has to be considered the favorite in a head to head match up with Kean in a primary.

In addition to Wall, Lakewood and Howell, the new district in comprised of the southern Monmouth coastal towns of Brielle, Bradley Beach, Avon by the Sea, Belmar, Lake Como, the Spring Lakes, Sea Girt, Manasquan.  Farmingdale rounds out the Monmouth towns in the district.  From Ocean County, Pt Pleasant and Pt. Pleasant Beach are in the district.

Dave Rible is the incumbent Assembly member from the new 30th and there is a vacancy.  Former Howell Mayor Joe DiBella could be a contender for the Assembly vacancy.   Would Kean consider going back to the Assembly? Stranger things have happened, but not very often.  Running for Assembly might be the only way for Kean to continue his political career.

Posted: April 3rd, 2011 | Author: | Filed under: NJ State Legislature, Reapportionment, Redistricting | Tags: , | 5 Comments »

5 Comments on “The map’s impact on Monmouth County Incumbents”

  1. The Save Jersey Blog » Blog Archive » UPDATE: Maps Here! Get Ya Maps Here! said at 2:07 pm on April 3rd, 2011:

    […] In the new LD-30, it’s a GOP primary between Rob Singer and Sean Kean. […]

  2. Incompetant Incumbents said at 2:22 pm on April 3rd, 2011:

    It is truly a shame that utter incompetents like Amy Handlin are not only allowed to keep serving, but allowed to serve incompetently a greater portion of the population of Monmouth County.

    Will someone please challenge her.

  3. polljunkie said at 3:12 pm on April 3rd, 2011:

    If you are so much better, why don’t you, Incompetant?

  4. Incompetent Incumbents said at 3:28 pm on April 3rd, 2011:

    Not my District anymore.

  5. MoreMonmouthMusings » Blog Archive » MMM Year In Review - April said at 10:45 am on December 28th, 2011:

    […] The new map was no joke for many in Monmouth County.  […]