Belmar Democrats fined by Election Law Enforcement Commission

The Belmar Democratic Committee and the committee’s former chairman and treasurer, Luis B. Pulido, were fined a total of $1,972.18 by the New Jersey Election Law Enforcement Commission for late disclosure reports from 2012 and 2013, according to a Final Decision posted of the commission’s website this morning.

On July 11, 2018, the commission issued a complaint charging that the Belmar Democrats and Pulido with six counts of late and incomplete reports for 2012 and 2013.

The campaign finance violations could have warranted fines of up to $44,800, according to the complaint.  The commission relied on Affidavits from the Belmar Democratic Committee and Pulido is deciding to levy fines of $1,432.66 against the committee and Pulido jointly, $4980.oo against the committee and sheriff service fees of $59.52.  The fines have been paid and the matter is closed.

MMM has requested copies of the Affidavits from NJ Elec.

Democrat Jennifer Nicolay defeated Republican Thomas E. Burke for a Belmar Borough Council seat in 2012. In 2013, Democrats Brian McGovern and Janis Keown-Blackburn defeated Republicans Burke and David Schneck for two seats on the Council.

Pulido has yet to respond to voice mail requesting comment. John Hutchinson, the current Chairman of the Belmar Democrats has not responded to a request for comment.

Belmar Republicans take control of the borough’s government for the first time in memory this week with the swearing in of Mayor Mark Walsifer and Councilwoman Patricia Wann.


Posted: January 2nd, 2019 | Author: | Filed under: Monmouth County News | Tags: , , , , , | Comments Off on Belmar Democrats fined by Election Law Enforcement Commission

Comments are closed.